It's Titled Players Galore at KL Open 2014

Even after ignoring the few players who are Candidate Masters (strictly not a title and certainly not of any use for FIDE title norm purposes), the DYTM Raja Dr Nazrin Shah KL International Open 2014 now officially has 42 titled players, currently more than half of the confirmed entries, and assuming no changes then it is over 50 percent based on the targeted 80 entries!

This does not guarantee title norms for those participants seeking them, but together with 14 countries represented here (and we also have untitled players from England, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei and Sri Lanka also playing so that number is really 19 countries), the chances are there if you play well!

Our closing date is 2 March (one moth before official start on 3 April) and unless there is are special cases we will enforce it, of course we already have enough entries but there will almost certainly be some no shows for some reason or another, so with a little more than 80 or a little less, it is no problem at all and I think we are guaranteed another exciting event!

1. Sergei Tiviakov (NED)
2. Niaz Murshed (BAN)
3. John Paul Gomez (PHI)
4. Richard Bitoon
5. Nguyen Anh Dung (VIE)
6. Vladimir Lazarev (FRA)
7. Suat Atalik (TUR)
8. Vaibhav Suri (IND)
9. M.R. Venkatesh
10. Deepan Chakkravarthy J.
11. R.R. Laxman
12. Neelotpal Das
13. Tahir Vakhidov (UZB)

Woman Grandmasters
14. Anda Safranska (FRA)
15. Hoang Thi Bao Tram (VIE)
16. Bhakti Kulkarni (IND)
17. Kiran Manisha Mohanty
18. Bhagyashree Thipsay
19. Irine Kharismar Sukandar (INA)
20. Medina Warda Aulia

International Masters
21. Oliver Dimakiling (PHI)
22. Rolando Notle
23. Arghyadip Das (IND)
24. R. Ramnath Bhuvanesh
25. S. Satyapragyan
26. Dede Lioe (INA)
27. Moulthun Ly (AUS)
28. Aleksander Wohl
29. Kirill Kuderinov (KAZ)
30. Bogdan Borsos (UKR)
31. Jimmy Liew (MAS)

Woman International Masters
32. Beverly Mendoza (PHI)
33. Chelsie Monica Shite (INA)
33. Upi Damayana Tamin

FIDE Masters
35. Haridas Pascua (PHI)
36. Nelson Mariano III
37. Aravindh Chithambaram (IND)
38. Ram Aravind L.N.
39. Andre Terekhov (RUS)

Woman FIDE Masters
40. Swati Mohota (IND)
41. Savant Riya
42. AA Dewi Citra (INA)


Popular posts from this blog

Lost Generations?

ASEAN+ Age-Group Chess Championships, 3-12 June 2014, Macau