DYTM Raja Dr Nazrin Shah Invitational Masters

The DYTM Raja Dr Nazrin Shah Invitational Masters will be held at Swiss Inn, Kuala Lumpur from 13-21 June 2013 and at the Palace of the Golden Horses together with the start of the Malaysian Masters on 22 June 2013.

A total of 11 players from 8 countries comprising four grandmasters, six international masters and one woman grandmaster will vie for honours and bragging rights.

Last year's KL Open Champion Sergei Tiviakov is the top seed but is expected to face a challenge from second ranked Thomas Luther and fellow veteran's Niaz Murshed and Dr Wong Meng Kong, while our own Mas Hafizulhelmi leads a large group of grandmaster title and norm candidates including Kevin Goh Wei Ming, Rolando Nolte, Alex Wohl, Oliver Dimakiling and Ramnath Bhuvanesh.

The single female participant is the returning multiple World Youth Champion Padmini Rout whose team recently emerged champions at the chess equivalent of the IPL (India Premier League).

With 11 players, there will be a bye each round.

Games at Swiss Inn will be from 4-9 p.m. daily with additional games 9 a.m.-2 p.m. on 16 and 20 June to allow for a rest day on 17 June.

The final round will be 11 a.m.-4 p.m. on 22 June at the Palace of the Golden Horses to be followed immediately by the closing ceremony to be graced by DYTM Raja Dr Nazrin Shah with Malaysian Chess Federation President Tan Sri Ramli Ngah Talib expected to also be in attendance.

Once again this event is organised by KLCA and made possible with sponsorship from the Masterskill Education Group Berhad and its affiliates.


Popular posts from this blog

Lost Generations?

ASEAN+ Age-Group Chess Championships, 3-12 June 2014, Macau